We Bought Carpets in Chisinau

IMG_7567

Hello everyone!

I’m finally back after so much time spent unpacking and settling into a new house. And yes, it does take 3 months if not more, especially with little kids. ūüôā

Anyhow, speaking of moving into a new house, I am restarting the blog with a post on buying carpets in Chisinau. We wanted to find a place where we could find many options and where they could cut carpets into the sizes we needed. There are probably many places in Chisinau that does that, but the one we found and were happy with was the “COVOARE – Magazin, Salon.”

IMG_7568

This was a huge store with many different types of carpets. We ended up buying some hall-way runners and three big carpets. There were many different price levels, but even the cheapest carpets were of very good quality. These carpets are made in Moldova, and some are sold through IKEA. We had a very helpful young man who spoke English well and could explain the differences in prices and quality. You can get carpets of any size here, because they can cut the carpets right there in the same store. If you know the sizes you need, you can buy, cut, and take it home the same day!

The name of the actual company is¬†CARPETA¬†and they have stores in many parts of Moldova along with many different countries. The website is in Romanian, and it has a catalog of the carpets (catalog is the same word in Romanian):¬†http://www.carpeta.md/Default.aspx.¬†I don’t remember if the place has a delivery service, but I would assume they do.

The address of the Covoare store is:

Calea Iesilor  street, # 10A,
Chisina, Moldova

Phone numbers:

022745600, 022239014

Operating hours:

Mon РFri 9:00 AM-7:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Sunday: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

The public transportation you can take to get there are:

Electric bus – 8, 23.

Bus – 17, 20.

Minibus (Vans) –¬†108, 111, 123, 137, 152, 154, 171

IMG_7569

I loved going to this store and I enjoy our carpets, and so does my family. There is a picture of my daughter laying on the carpet under the dining table, above. If you are curious about the picture, she was playing hide and sick. If she doesn’t see us, that means we don’t see her, of course. Love it!

And one more thing, on the same building were the Covoare store is, there are a few other stores that are good for the home. I believe there is a big store with indoor and outdoor plants and pots as well as a fancy furniture store in there. Here is a not so awesome picture of the plant and pot store, below.

IMG_7566

If you go there, take your time and get someone to talk to. Don’t worry about going there with kids. Our kids loved jumping on top of the pile of carpets and the staff never showed any concern. When we wanted to stop them, the staff told us to let them play!

I hope you find this post helpful!

5 thoughts on “We Bought Carpets in Chisinau

  1. Hi! I am happy about the new post :))) Did you see furniture for kids also? We need a new bed for M√°rton. See you, Bernadett

    • Hey! I didn’t see what’s inside the furniture store, but it looked like it was more concentrated on the kitchen equipment, dining room furniture set and fancy bedroom sets. The Covoare carpet place has nice capers for kids rooms If you need any. We got one that had the print of a town with roads on it. I’ll keep an eye out for kids furniture!

  2. Hello there I was so happy to discover your post as I’ve been visiting Moldova over the last three years and can’t find a ton of info. I’ve discovered the beautiful vintage rose carpets around the country and I was wondering if you knew where I could buy one ? I live in Vienna but come every three months or so. Would be grateful for any tips ? Best Kathy

  3. Hi! I find your blog amazing, it’s like a chisinau Wikipedia ūüėÄ I just moved to Chisinau and i found so many helpfull tips here. When I read the post about tailored stressed and carpets I just couldn’t stop smiling! Thank you so much for posting! -ewa

Leave a Reply

