Central Market

If you are up for walking through the crowds and discovering a market overwhelmingly filled with stuff at a reasonable price, then Central Market is for you!

Just about now – mid October – is a good time to visit it actually. It’s not too hot nor is it too cold.

Just bring a LOT of bags with you. If you come with a car, it’s even better. Because, you might want to buy a lot. Everything seems like a bargain.

I assume you would need to know a little Romanian or Russian there. I’m lucky I know Russian, but I started working on Romanian as well. A lot of things have a price tag anyway, so you might not even have to talk, really.

Also keep your wallet close to yourself. No matter where in the world you are, if you are in a market, this is common sense.

It’s a great cultural experience!

7 thoughts on “Central Market

  1. True… have you visited “Bessarabski” market? I was surprised – this is like a huuuuuge open supermarket, you can find whatever, starting from furniture to animals, including clothing and electronics. Nobody gives you a “factura”, nobody pays taxes there…

    Date: Wed, 24 Oct 2012 08:41:45 +0000
    To: piia_p@hotmail.com

  2. Hi T… great to see this post! We were wondering whether there was such a market in Chisinau. There is something comforting in knowing that the Chinese cheap and cheerful has made it over there… like seeing a bit of home, LOL! It’s open every day? Are there still other open air markets? You’re becoming a super resource for me… thanks! 🙂

    (Btw, I was in Moldova for a couple of days last year, and you can see some of my shots on my blog by clicking on “Moldova” in the word bubble on the right side bar. Sorry if I’ve already told you this…)

    • Yes, Chinese and Turkish – products from both countries are here! There are more markets too and I have yet to explore them. I have been visiting your website and just recently saw the Moldova pictures. You have amazing shots! You would’ve loved how Chisinau is now. All orange and red because of the fall leaves. Really beautiful!

      • Thank you, T. You are right about loving the colors. I think the season I’ve missed most living in the tropics is autumn… and it saddens me a bit that we are going from summer straight into winter. 😦

Leave a Reply

